American Idle

January 20, 2005
The madness has begun, people!!! That�s what happens in this house once AI begins. I really don�t know what the entire fascination with this is. I mean- you can see people humiliate themselves for the sake of fame and fortune on half a dozen reality shows that span the channel spectrum. And yet- when you throw in a British hard-ass, a has-been pop princess who once sang with the likes of MC Scat Cat, and some black dude that says dude and dawg a lot � well � you�ve got yourself something that causes near couch paralysis. We have been immobile for the last two nights. I made plans and then actually CANCELLED them when I remembered that there was a second night of AI, to which Chad gasped and said, �You forgot!?!? How could you have forgotten?�

This is like Boobah for adults.

How we screamed with laughter. ESPECIALLY when the contestants were reduced to tears and sobbing. How we delighted in their heartbrokenness.

I have come to the conclusion that American Idol is evil. And yet, I cannot repent of my �idolatry.� I MUST watch. I must joy in other people�s pain.

You know what it�s going to come down to, don�t you? We (and I mean the collective American television audience of we) are not going to be satisfied until we actually see someone DIE on TV. I�m not even kidding. We�re returning to our old �bread and circus and lions at the coliseum� days.

Simon Cowell is the devil.

9:06 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker