Sunset on a GREAT Weekend

February 21, 2005
I don�t know if I mentioned that my boss gave me today off because she said I�d been doing such a great job lately. AND I know that its president�s day, but we don�t get that one off so it IS a freebie for me.

WOW what a great weekend!

Friday night we went to this thing at church to learn different folk dances from this 90 year old Cuban pastor and seminary professor who just happens to be an expert in folk dance and knows over 300 of them.

So lame its cool, right? Like those rank 80s redneck hats Ashton Kutcher managed to make all the rage again.

Anyway- it was very cool. The dude was OLD. I mean- like coughing up dustbunnies old. But he was cool. We learned 4 dances from four different countries and it was TOUGH! I was sweating like a pig towards the end. But it was fun. He talked about dance as the king of arts because you use your entire body to express your art through the dance and blah blah.

After that, we went and ate Italian and then home. Great night overall.

The next day, I decided that it was too great of a day to stay in. So after some thought, I decided to go to New Orleans for the day. Since Chad didn�t want to go because he has anxieties and such- I took Jimbo.

What a GREAT time we had!!!

The cool thing is that I got to introduce him to things- and being who I am, the OLDEST and all �I love doing this. He�d never been to the Pat O�s piano bar. Well we were going! He�d never had a hurricane. Pour them up, bartender! He�d never had a buttery nipple shot- well � we�ll just have to slam some back then!

We walked the streets relatively tipsy � soaking in the sights and sounds. We wandered in and out of galleries on Royal � awestruck by all of the art. We paused to watch street performers and laughed at the antics.

We kinda played this little game of mental picture taking � since we had no camera with us. So when something cool was happening- he�d go � look at that �that is a picture moment. Funny � but they are all in my head now. The kitten sleeping on the antique chair in the gallery, surrounded by paintings of cats. The old man asleep at a table in the Cuban restaurant. The Goths dancing to jazz on the Jackson Square grass.

We left the city at around 8:30. We�d seen a lot � walked about five miles and had the best time either of us had ever had there. I guess it�s because it was just us and we�re so much alike and so laid back. When you go with a group � everyone wants to do something different and you have to wait and it�s annoying.

And although I�d love to go with Chad- New Orleans makes him nervous. Something about perimeters. Jimbo totally understood the concept. It�s the fact that you�re not only watching out for yourself, but you�re watching out for your girl � for bums and pickpockets and pervs. Anyway �so the perimeter that you�re guarding has doubled. Jimbo said when he went with his ex-girlfriend; he too, was a nervous wreck.

Guess his sister getting robbed and felt up is of no concern.

But seriously � it was great.

Yesterday was okay I suppose. Had a family gathering �always unsettling. Negative comments were made about my clothes, hair and weight. Oh well. What do you expect?

And today I�ve been OFF and loving it!!!

Anyway- that�s all for now �I have to cook dinner for the man.

4:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker