First Annual Friday Flashback

May 06, 2005
I think I�ll start writing memory entries on Friday � you know � just to change it up a bit and be a little more creative (before the rest of my mind slips away.)

I suppose I�ll tell a humorous chemo story. (How�s that for an oxymoron?)

It was a Friday afternoon in November. I�d already had my first chemo 2 weeks earlier, intravenously through my hand, which was the equivalent of being stung up the arm by thousands of wasps � not to mention it took SEVEN hours!!! It was quickly decided that I needed a mediport. I didn�t like the idea of this at all � but the seven hour wasp session didn�t seem like an option either.

The port was surgically �installed� in my left vena cava. The port looks something like this:

And it�s installed in this area:

Here�s a photo where you can see the scar pretty well:

It was under my skin and stuck out a bit. It freaked me every now and again. I�d think about it being in there and I�d get the willies and the backs of my thighs would tingle.

Anyway � about three days after this port insertion surgery, I had to have my second round of chemo. So that meant that they had to �access� the port for the first time.

So I�m sitting in the chemo recliner with my freshly cut hair (because it had already started to fall out and it�s easier seeing short hair fall out than long) when the nurse came to begin the process.

They attempted to �access� the port and it hurt LIKE HELL!!! First of all, for whatever reason, my stupidassed surgeon had made the incision right over the access point. There�s only a little circle (about the size of a penny) that you can stick the needle into. So they had to literally stick the needle into the incision.

I know that you�re thinking to yourself - Is this supposed to be funny? This is not funny. When will this get funny? Just wait a sec. . .

So � they have me properly stuck � or so they assume � and decide to pump saline instead of the drugs � just in case they�ve missed the access point.

Well � it�s hurting so bad that I can�t stop crying. I mean � tears are just streaming and streaming down my face. My mom is there along with Kathleen and they�re like �Does it really hurt that bad?�

I keep thinking that usually when you get stuck and they�ve accessd a vein � it stops hurting after 5 seconds. Anyway � I�d been under a blanket the entire time � because they keep this room morgue temperature (which is creepy) and I remove the blanket to see what the hell is going on with this damn needle.

The looks on my Mother�s and Kathleen�s face say quite a bit. A mixture of shock, horror and a smirk.

I have a GIGANTIC left boob!

I�m talking � Pamela Anderson before she had her first set taken out boob.

We cannot help but laugh. I mean � I was a comfortable C anyway � but . . .

By that time, the nurse rushes over and gasps and calls over other nurses.

�Oh sweetie! Oh darlin! No wonder it was hurtin!� (That�s always how these South Louisiana nurses sound � nothing against them God bless their hearts) �Your tissues have been pumped with about a half gallon of saline!!!�

Grrreat.

I�m sitting there introducing the left one to the right one �Anna Nicole Smith meet Ginger Smith� (my maiden name).

So � in order to prove I�m �such a little trooper� I say the only thing a person could say at this point:

�Could you do the other one?�

1:53 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker