The Next Realm of Empathy

May 17, 2005

em�pa�thy n.

Direct identification with, understanding of, and vicarious experience of another person's situation, feelings, and motives.

I had the strange realization the other day (while driving to work, of course) that I�m entering into a whole new realm of empathy with this motherhood thing. AND it�s quite a BIG realm at that.

Now � I�ll be able to relate to being vomited on, to being crapped on (although I guess a night at a bondage/filth fetish club could give me that) � but I digress.

All these cheesy quotes that I read � ones that say �Becoming a mother is knowing that your heart will forever be walking around on the outside of your body� or something like that � they�ll make me cry. I�ll nod and I�ll say: Yep � Ol� Beanie�s got my heart.

I�ll join that secret sorority of women who�ve been to hell and back � all in the name of their offspring.

I�ll no longer scowl upon seeing a screaming baby in a restaurant. I will merely give an empathetic smile to the mother.

I will become horrified when someone�s breast becomes exposed during a Superbowl Halftime show because I really don�t want to be fielding questions about nipple-rings from a 4 year old.

I will no longer passionately hate larger vehicles and the soccer mom�s who drive them, because I will understand that a stroller, a bouncy seat, a portable crib and 2 full diaper bags just don�t fit into a Volkswagen Beetle.

I�ll come to know the difference between Dora the Explorer and Kimpossible and I�ll even be able to remember the name of that weird little pink thing she hangs around with.

You know � I�ve ventured into other realms of empathy, as we all do.

The more common:

Yeah, I had cancer, too.

Yeah, I know what it feels like to be a fat woman in a world of anorexic, bulimic whores.

Yeah, I worship my dog as a tiny furry god.

The less common:

Yeah, a tree fell on my car while I was riding in it.

Yeah, my husband and I don�t sleep in the same bed either.

Yeah, me, my mother and my father all met our current mates online as well.

But I think I�m most excited about the motherhood realm. Can�t wait to say, �Yeah, I can totally relate to the whole �cheerios are everywhere� thing.�

Anyway � those were my thoughts as of late.

3:55 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker