Our Little �Can of Soda� Can Hear!

June 22, 2005
18 weeks today!!! Here's the scoop:

The baby continues to grow bigger. You should be able to feel your uterus below your belly button. It is near this time that myelinization begins. This involves a coating of the nerves with a fatty substance called myelin to speed up nerve cell transmission.
Other changes that are happening:

� Pads are forming on the baby's fingers and toes that will develop into characteristics of fingerprints and footprints.
� Fine hair is growing and covering your baby's head and body.
� The baby's legs are now longer than the arms.
� By week 18 all of the structures that will enable your baby to hear are in place and functioning. Comforting sounds inside the womb may include the beat of Mom's heart and the movement of blood to and from the baby

Baby's Size (head to rump) this week: About 5 to 5.5 inches.

Weight: Approximately 5.5 ounces

Right now your baby is about the size of a can of soda.

Here�s an image of an ultrasound baby at 18 weeks (not OUR baby, mind you!):

I�ll have to start playing more piano for Beanie soon. I was thinking about playing the same song everyday, then playing it after they�re born and seeing if I get a reaction.

In other baby news, we�re also seriously considering banking the cord blood after Beanie is born. I was reading a little more about it the other day, and it turns out that if one or both parents have ever suffered from any of this list of illnesses including LYMPHOMA that it might be a good idea. I had lymphoma, of course � so we said to ourselves:

Wouldn�t that be crazy if I relapse in a few years (God forbid) and the stored cord blood from our child ends up saving my life?

Pretty deep thoughts.

Hmmm � what else???

Ooh! Ooh!

The most awesome thing occurred last night! The most wonderful Biodtl has offered to send me her Baby Bjorn carrier instead of giving it to Goodwill!!! (And I hear they're pretty pricey.)

This is the beanie�s first blog-related gift (not that I�m expecting any, really)!

I�m so excited!

Biodtl, you rock!!!

12:34 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker