HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CHAD!

2004-06-30
Today is Chad�s birthday. He is 31! Wow! He said last night that 31 feels much worse than 30 because at 30, you�re still pretty close to your twenties, but at 31, you cross some threshold. I guess I know what he means.

Tonight we�ll probably go out to eat or something. Who knows? We do have the party on Saturday.

Anyway � didn�t write at all yesterday � don�t� really know why, either. Guess I was busy.

Let me think � what went on . . .

I finally talked to Dr. P on Monday afternoon � then left and went to three different stores looking for power bars. I was very disgusted at the prospects. All three stores had them � but two of the stores had tons of expired bars. I was incensed!!! I was cursing a blue streak. (Wonder what that means, cursing a blue streak?)

Anway � so I finally found them at Winn Dixie of all places and hurried home afterwards. That night, Chad cooked steaks and I made baked sweet potatoes � delicious!!!

The next day, I stopped at Wal Mart on my way to work to get a gift bag for Sara, since it was her birthday. I don�t know if I mentioned what I got her- I found the cutest little crawfish thingy made out of tiny car parts- (the body is a spark plug). I guess that sounds sort of sad and cheesy � but ever since she�s moved here from Oklahoma, she�s wanted something with a crawfish on it for her kitchen � since it is SO quintessentially Louisiana. So I got her this one and I bought a candle at Walmart to add to the bounty � and a card of course.

I also decided to follow the Dr.�s advice and go ahead and buy the damn Colace. Funny thing about that � they had the bottle of Colace for $15.97 and then right next to it was a bottle of the generic Walmart brand that said Stool Softener in large letters for $3.97. I compared the ingredients on both and found they were exactly the same. So I�m thinking � hmmm- seems like you can pay more and not be shamed by purchasing something with the word �stool� on it, or save $11 but announce your bowel problems to the Walmart checkout person. And the funniest thing of all � guess how much a plain old enema costs?

97 cents.

What is the price of dignity? Apparently - $15.97.

I went for the Stool Softener. What do I care?

I then dashed to work and got a few things done here and there. Ended up going out with my office mate at lunch � didn�t eat out � just went out to this plus size shop Catherine�s. Pretty cool, place. So this is where all of the really nice plus sized items have been hiding for the past 5 years! Oh well � I knew about the place, but didn�t think the clothes would be decent or young or bohemian enough. They had a nice blend of things- I think anyone could find something they liked �they had flashy things and countrified things and modern items and really dressy dresses. They also had bins of the cutest tee shirts on sale for $9.99. I think I�m going to go back and get a few pretty soon. They were awesome!

I left early again yesterday � since I have the comp time to take back � and went to my Dad�s to give Sara her gift. She really liked it. Then my brother got home and we talked for a very long time. He went to see Fahrenheit 9-11 yesterday and was still pretty traumatized. He said it made him cry and he was totally freaked out. He said that after that, Bush is not getting his vote. It�s funny because, he said that over the past year and a half, he�s completely transformed his views about politics and social issues. I know that a lot of it has to do with college � but � he said it�s been interesting for him to watch himself change. I told him that he really should sit down and write about it and that it�s something people would be interesting in reading � a social and political commentary of sorts � about a young twenty-something male who, only a year ago, was thinking about enlisting in the military, and now, in his heart, protests the war. I should be his publicist.

As far as my views � agh � such a tough subject which I don�t like to talk about much. I�ve seen the propaganda on both sides which makes it so much more difficult. I don�t hate George Bush � I never have. I just don�t know how much I like him. Something doesn�t seem right, you know? Something seems phony. Something about him reminds me of my old boss- rich, privileged and hiding behind a veneer of morality and Christianity, but doing things to serve himself only. I don�t know - I guess I shouldn�t compare our president to that bastard. I guess I am cynical. If he turns out to be the good guy � ok, whatever. If he�s the antichrist- ok � not surprised. Nothing shocks me at this point. I mean � I know it�s the highest office and everything, but when, just a few years ago- you�re reading about your big chief playing hide the cigar with an intern � I mean � kinda takes away from the dignity of the position.

In the end, I encouraged my brother to try and keep things in perspective. That war is horrific and cruel no matter what- and that Moore had an agenda and wanted to do everything in his power to make that agenda come across � AND- if someone had only showed pieces of my brother at his worst moments, how would he feel? He had thought about all of this. I�m not saying that I don�t think Moore�s film had a powerful message in it that can�t be believed � however, liberals and conservatives alike have found plenty of errors in the movie and supposed �facts� have been disproven. So � what else can you say? I don�t know. I�m going to do more research into it online, actually.

So � after our long heart to heart about all things political, I went home and had dinner with Chad. We watched a little TV and then went to bed.

This morning, when he came in to kiss me I had 2 cards waiting for him. One from me and one from Mr. B � which was an actual �from the dog to Dad� card. I wrote on it in green crayon in childlike writing and signed it with a paw print. Very cute. He got a big kick out of it.

So � just sitting here at work procrastinating. Guess I should do something productive. More later.

(Still steady at 17 pounds, by the way!)

10:49 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker