Liturgy Trippin

2004-10-19
So � we met with the counselor last night.

Quite interesting.

Actually, before meeting with the counselor, we had a small tiff about �why do we need to meet with the counselor?� As you may know, I can�t go into details, but there was a mini-crisis about 3 months ago and things are progressing well � but I feel like counseling is a vital part of the process � even if the catalyst happened 3 months ago. I�m one of these God, meds and counseling type of people. This is my prescription for most problems. He seemed to think it would be like reopening a wound and weren�t we doing okay? Okay so yes I know that things are good � but . . . I suppose we both had good points.

So � we went.

I liked her. She was quite funny. She reminded me of someone, but I couldn�t quite put my finger on it. Oh wait- I know. She reminded me of this woman that I used to work with in the hellhole � this woman that was wonderful and reminded me of my mom.

Anyway � so we talked things through. Of course, once my liturgy entered the room, we had to trip over that for about 30 minutes. Ok � so I have a traffic-stopping liturgy. Well � maybe not traffic stopping.
Anyway � so that whole conversation had to happen. The cancer. And the ex-boyfriend. And the depression. And the drugs and self-destruction.
Actually, we didn�t even talk about the whole parents divorcing after 26 years/Dad marrying internet love interest/Mom marrying and moving to Minnesota deal.
I guess we didn�t need to talk about all the things that have chipped away at my sanity and well-being. We hit the high points, I think.
Anyway � she immediately put us on even ground � so no one was the �poor pitiful victim.� This was an interesting strategy and one that I admired. She also really got Chad to think about some things � I could tell that he was impressed.

Overall � I think it was great. We actually even talked about the fact that he didn�t think we needed to go � or at least, that he thought it may add to the problems. She had a really good commentary on that issue and it was like � Oh . . . hmmm � that makes sense. Wow!

She was also very �no pressure.� She was all � �this whole thing is totally up to you guys � if you think you want to come back and see me � I think it would do you good. If you think that you can work it out amongst yourselves � I trust your judgment.�

We ended in a prayer circle and she led us in the prayer. I got teary and gave Chad a bear hug after the amen � which I think surprised him a little. Then we all hugged. It was semi-clich� but still very worthwhile.

Then of course, she says � �okay that will be $90 cash or check.�
And then reality hit. Oh crap. I forgot we have to pay for this. And weren�t we supposed to �work something out� since our insurance doesn�t cover it? There was no conversation though. I began to bring it up, but had already been shushed once when I was trying to answer questions for Chad during the session. I said to myself � I�ll let him have this one. He handles the money.
But � he said nothing. Mumbled something about American Express and then took the check envelope and promised to pay later. Anyway � he�s supposed to be emailing her.
After discussing things further at home we decided that we�d like to go back � but we can�t afford $90 � not even every two weeks. So he�s going to email her. I really wish we could have discussed it there last night � when there was love and community and brotherhood in the air.
Oh well . . .
So � I suppose we�ll see.

10:24 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker