Zen and the art of Living Room Sanctuaries

2004-10-28
So � yesterday afternoon, Dr. R gives me this little project � which results in me having this burst of creativity. I tell you, that�s all you have to do is just tell me to come up with a few �creative concepts� for a powerpoint or a speech about something � I�m ALL OVER it! Which leads me to wonder . . . why am I like this? This means something. What can you do if that�s your talent? Coming up with random crap like that. I remember back in school, when we had to find a topic for a science fair project or a paper � I had like 20 different concepts � and most people couldn�t come up with one. (NOT that I�m trying to say I�m better than others � mind you . . .)

Anyway � so I�m thinking that somewhere out there � is some sort of company which needs a person like me. Is there some sort of �creative think tank� out there � where people get paid to conceptualize? Notice, I said, conceptualize � and not actually make those concepts happen. That�s where I usually fall flat on my face. Although � I do bring a good bit of my ideas to fruition � on a small scale that is.

So � I�m rolling like crazy with concepts for this speech she has to do in about 3 weeks. She�s quite impressed with this, too. She�s all �this is really your gift!� I was quite happy.

Anyway, I leave at 5:15, a little late, because I can�t stop searching the web for more concept ideas � and then drive home � all the while thinking up more ideas. Chad calls. He�s had a rough day. He has to run all of these errands. He has to mail all of these things for the company through Fedex. He�s exhausted. He�s been crawling around under desks installing things all day. He�s been dealing with frustrated state workers. He�s been wearing the mask of civility for a bit longer than he can usually stand (this is Chad, remember?). He doesn�t think he can make it to Alpha. He�s dead tired.

Ok � I say. We don�t HAVE to go. I can heat up the leftover pizza. We can relax at home. Don�t feel bad. Then the �concept� hits me. I�m going to turn the living room into a zen-ish nirvana sanctuary � tons of candles and new age music going (you know the kind with babbling brooks and rainstorms in the background and Chinese flutes and kyotos in the foreground � much akin to the stuff they put on when you get a massage or a facial at a spa).

So � I do it! I race around trying to find this CD I made 3 years ago for Yoga purposes. I finally find it and put it in the player. Then I begin transporting candles from all over the house � hoping that I somehow will not cause a fire. Imagine � hi honey � come on in and relax in your CHARRED SHELL OF A HOUSE!

Luckily, there were no fires to put out.

So � I then post a note on the door that says, �Welcome to Nirvana. Prepare to relax . . .� He comes in and I�m lounging on one of the couches � the music is going, the candles are glowing throughout the room. The look on his face was priceless. Like a child walking in on his Santa gifts on Christmas morning. He couldn�t help but smile.

�Sit down, sir. You need to relax.�

He gets into his recliner and reclines. I take off his shoes and socks for him. He looks at me with the most loving of looks. �I love you SO much� he whispers.

It was really great. We just lounged there for almost an hour � listening to the yoga music in the candlelight and being quiet. I began to cry at some point � because I looked over at him and he looked so relaxed and rested � and it�s very rare that I see him looking like that. He�s always on the go � or frustrated � or busy � or anxious � or something. So it made me cry. Awww.

Go ahead and laugh you cheesy cynics.

Anyway � so I got up and heated up our pizza leftovers and then quietly brought our dinner into the �sanctuary.� It�s really strange how soft music and candles can turn your living room into a place of refuge. We barely spoke above a whisper. And you know what else?!?! I�ve NEVER eaten slower than I did last night! Which leads me to believe that I need to wear headphones while eating so that I don�t devour my food like a starved wolf. It was very interesting to say the least.

And no this did not lead to some wild sex. Cause �Aunt Flow� is here. AND because I didn�t want to put pressure on him to perform, etc.

Speaking of Aunt Flow � I bought the �plus size� pads. Pretty good, actually. Although I will say that the �flexi wings� do NOT stick to the microfiber undies I bought the other day (yes they are pink). So � it leads me to believe that they don�t stick to any microfiber undies but instead bunch up and stick to your thigh creases or other sensitive places (ouch!).

Anyway � on that note � I will dash.

10:30 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker