Follicular Homicide and Other News

December 20, 2004
So � another Monday is here. I am, of course, sick with some sort of a lingering cold. BUT � my head is a lot better. I don�t know if I mentioned Sample Whore�s (S.W.) diagnosis. He said that I actually had an infected sebaceous cyst. I don�t know if I believe that because I have two other sebaceous cysts on my scalp right now � just little bumps� clogged hair follicles � and there wasn�t one in that spot before the disaster occurred. The only thing in that spot was a little booboo that I, in my OCDness, did not allow to heal and thus � through the wonders of staph infection � which I have now been fully briefed on � became infected because of Chad�s own armpit disaster.

I did confess the dermatillomania to S.W. He mumbled something and that was it. Didn�t give any advice � etc. What I should have said is, �Guess you don�t have a SAMPLE for THAT?!?�

So � then I had to wear these cloth headbands last week. I had actually bought a few velvet ones to snazz up the look. I was not about to wear gauze wrapped around my head for 4 days. So � I taped gauze inside the headband and voila � insta-bandage! And fashionable!

I did get several compliments on the headband look � although I felt like some sort of weirdo. I felt like the headband was making my eyes look as though they were bulging out of my skull. And someone told me it was �schoolgirlish.� I wasn�t sure if that was a good or bad thing.

Jimbo graduated from college on Friday. I went to the graduation to show that he had my full support. It was symbolic. I didn�t walk in my own graduation for several reasons � one of them being my friend was getting married and I was in the wedding and the second one (the REAL one) being that my parents were freshly separated, my mother was hysterical, and it was one of those �Well if he�s going to be there, I don�t know if I can go . . .� and I just couldn�t deal with all of that. So � my graduation was quite an afterthought.

Jimbo also paid his way through school � something that he�s a bit bitter about � because my Mom offered to pay for my sister�s nursing venture and of course � my school was paid for �half by my dad, half by the state. So � he felt like the kid that nobody was willing to bank on � literally. We�ve had many conversations about this and I�ve always told him that he will never be sorry he paid his own way and worked a full-time job all the while. He doesn�t realize how much people respect that, I suppose. But I guess he will find out soon enough.

Anyway � we exchanged gifts with Dad & Co. on Friday night. It was fun. I got all the Seinfeld DVD seasons that are out, this funky, bizarre statue of a hand playing a piano � I really like it � even though it might be considered �awful� � I don�t know � It�s just kitschy enough to work � AND a metronome for the piano.

I went to the writer�s group on Saturday morning and I really (honestly) enjoyed it. The group was honest about everything � including their own self-consciousness and fear of criticism � which I found rather refreshing. When one person�s book chapter or whatever was up for critique by the group, he or she would often sigh and say �Okay � let me have it. Tell how much of a load of crap this is�� � I liked that. It made me feel safe.

I told them how I had attempted to go the same group about 3 years ago. This was upon the suggestion of my therapist who thought it might be good for me � because my life was in such chaos, etc. Well, after attending the first meeting � I got an email from a few members wanted to separate from the group and meet on alternate Saturdays because so-in-so was too tough and rude and would I like to join them instead . . .

A coup, if you will.

Since I had no time for such drama in my life, considering it was reeling with enough drama for not one, but TWO soap operas � I bowed out and haven�t attempted to join anything since.

So they all laughed and said �OH that must have been when Bill was here. Yeah � it�s not like that now. We�re all normal.

I liked it.

After group, I bought all of my Shmoo�s presents. Seven in all. I�m very happy with my purchases. I finally dealt with the fact that I may never top the first gift I ever gave him � which was a rare copy of the original Cure�s �Disentegration� on vinyl in album frame. I have a few tricks up my sleeve, yet � but didn�t have the time or money to do them this year. There will be other years.

Anyway � we missed church yesterday � and I feel like a total heathen. But- you know how a cold is always bad first thing in the morning. It feels more like you�re dying of diphtheria or something. And then after you�ve showered and hocked up half a lung and brushed your teeth � you just feel a bit sniffly and your throat is a little scratchy. Well � when church was starting, I was still in diphtheria mode. So � we didn�t go.

Anyway � won�t bore you with the rest of the evening�s junk. More shopping. That�s about it.

Well � more later.

1:06 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker