TWO PINK LINES!!!

March 21, 2005
So � here�s what went down.

I�ve been waiting for the period to start � because I�ve been feeling mildly crampy. Well, it just wasn�t coming. Yesterday I was pretty crampy throughout the day and I was about to take a muscle relaxer. Then I thought, I�d better test. I don�t know why but I just had this �feeling� that I needed to.

Another weird thing is that I went to New Orleans over the weekend and I didn�t drink anything. I almost did a few times, and then I was like � Nah � better not. Even if a light beer is only 2 points.

So I went into the bathroom and took out the test. I peed on the strip and set it in the windowsill. I was thinking �Let me just wait for the negative result so I can hurry up and take my drugs. I walked into the living room for a moment and then went back to the test strip. I guess about 2 minutes had passed.

TWO PINK LINES!!!

Am I dreaming?

Am I seeing this correctly?

I pick it up and study it closer. Hmmmm � yep two pink lines. I calmly walk into the living room where Chad has been snoozing in his recliner for the last hour or so. He�s just woken up and his eyes are still bleary. I hand him the test.

�It�s positive!� I say � my eyes wide with fear and excitement.

His eyes widen as well. He smiles a little. Then he goes catatonic for about 10 minutes.

I begin pacing. All of these thoughts are racing through my head at once � thoughts of false positives and labor and pink bunny nurseries and strollers and . . .

�Wasn�t it a cheap test?� he finally stammers.

�Yeah � but I think a false positive is rare.�

�Maybe we should take another test. The good one.�

�You mean the expensive one?� I reply.

He literally leaps out of his chair and is out the door in about 20 seconds.

I try to call him twice to remind him to get the early detection test. No answer.

I try again.

No answer.

I began to think that he�s flown the coop and he�s never coming back. Men sometimes do that, I�ve been told.

Then I look down and see his laptop next to the chair.

He�ll be back, alright.

He returns with smears of chocolate on his face and the clearblue easy digital read test ($15, I think).

I take it and . . . well, you saw the results on the previous page.

PREGNANT!

So � now what?

1:03 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker