The First Visit

April 16, 2005

Well, the visit went fine. Of course, according to their scales, I�ve gained 7 pounds!!! But � I wasn�t shocked. For the last 2 weeks I�d been �relishing in the flavors of the pregnant palate.� However- that time must come to an end- and for good reason.

Anyway � Chad did get to see the wonders of the pelvic exam � from the side of course. He said- �didn�t look difficult to me.�

Of course, this is the same man, who, when at my side at the hospital 2 years ago while I wept for 3 solid hours because I�d been catheterized and it HURT said:

�It doesn�t hurt that bad, does it? Come on � stop crying. �

You all need to pray that he will acquire a new level of compassion before we get to the delivery room.

Anyway � she said she couldn�t feel the outline of my uterus. I asked- Is it because of my �ample belly.� She laughed and said �well, maybe, and you�re tense.�

So she ordered a sonogram for next Friday. She said we�d be able to actually see our little baby and it would give her a better idea of how far along I actually am.

My doctor was really wonderful. She did everything to make me feel at ease. I was so worried I�d be treated like a freak, but she was so good. She didn�t say �how dare you get pregnant at this weight� or �well since you�re so fat, this is going to be difficult.�

She just said- �I don�t want you to gain any more weight. It�s not going to be hard. You�ll see.�

She said I should try to STAY AWAY FROM CARBS!!! (Immediately cue extreme need for macaroni and cheese and the entire contents of a Holsum Bread truck.)

She said get lots of protein and veggies and get my carbs from fruit. I don�t guess you could consider mac and cheese a fruit?

So we left with a large bag of goodies and good feelings. Overall- good. And next week I�ll be able to post the sonogram pics!!! Hurrah!

Anyway � after our appointment we ate a non-carb friendly lunch at Ninfa�s (I decided I would start today) and then he took me to the ZOO!!

The otters were fabulous!!!!! We had an awesome day of togetherness.

AWWWW

Otter pics coming soon.

11:48 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker