Consumer Identity Crisis

August 17, 2005
Heard a very interesting lecture this weekend about the �post-modern generation� which consists of some of Gen-X and Y�ers and the fact that these days, they feel that much of their identity rests in what they �consume� or buy. And that they can change their identity by changing their consumption habits � at least on the public level.

Sounds shallow, right?

But think about it � if you start shopping exclusively at Whole Foods (instead of Walmart) and began getting all of your clothes at Greenfibres or something � wouldn�t that send out a message?

I understand it pretty well. Two years ago I bought the VW Beetle and my first Mac and felt like a different person altogether. I mean � I knew that I wasn�t, really � but it kind of made me feel that way. I know it possibly changed people�s perception of me � at least on a surface level.

So now I�m not really digging the Mac too much anymore and I�ve switched to the very safe, conservative, Mom-ish Toyota Camry. And I feel SO weird.

Is that strange or what?

Am I that shallow?

I remember giving up my personalized checks a few years ago (my God do I actually need to be defined by the fact that my check has European vistas on it �to show just how worldly and cool I am?). And then, of course, I stopped dying my hair red � in order to put an end to the whole clich� that I was becoming. (Ginger. Red hair. Etc.)

I guess we�ll just never get away from feeling identified in some way by what we purchase. We�ve gone from putting our money where our mouth is � to our money actually becoming our mouths.

I purchase � therefore I am!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

In other news . . .

I am 26 weeks pregnant today! AND I only have 98 DAYS TO GO!!! Can you believe I�m in the double digits now!!!

Here�s the scoop:

As Jude grows, space is getting tighter inside the womb. Jude now measures about 12.8 inches tall and probably weighs almost two pounds. Most of this weight is bone and tissue, because he still doesn't have much body fat. In fact, the main development of body fat doesn't really occur until late in the third trimester. Between now and week 29, Jude will have a growth spurt and gain another pound.

Lots of other developments occur this week:

� Jude is beginning to blink and open his eyes.

� Eyelashes are beginning to grow.

� Hair is continuing to grow on Jude�s head.

� To support his growing body, Jude's spine is getting stronger and more flexible.

� Although he hasn't put on much fat, Jude is beginning to look a little plumper.

� At this point Jude has completed two-thirds of his stay in your womb.

He is gaining more awareness of his surroundings, hearing noise and responding to light. In the same way that you can see a flashlight if you hold it against your palm, Jude can see the light coming through your belly and uterus. You may notice increased activity when in brighter light and decreased activity in
darkened rooms. Jude's hearing is becoming more acute, which means they are likely to startle in response to a loud or sudden noise.

For an image of a baby at 26 weeks visit this link


9:06 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker