Friday Flashback: Hairem Scarem

August 26, 2005
Okay � so today�s a bit busy and I�m sorry but I�m going to take the lazy way out. Forgive. I really should be writing about birthdays of yore, since my THIRTIETH BIRTHDAY is Sunday (AHEM) � but that would take too long.

I decided to post a little picture strip of my hair transformation from pre-cancer to now.

From left to right:

Picture 1 - The day before I was diagnosed. Had the �wonder mane� going on. I remember thinking that I probably had cancer, but not really knowing what that meant to me �only that I was getting out of school. I never really thought about death.

Picture 2 -This is me in my wig � very Uma in Pulp fiction, don�t ya think? That was a pretty good day � I spent the day with my grandfather and family in Sulphur, LA. I didn�t mind the wig, really. It was quite like a hat �and the cool thing was you didn�t have to really fix your hair. You washed that wig once a week � put it on the little head thingy and let it dry. You shaped it a bit � but that was it. Quite easy. And it stayed on very securely. I never worried about it coming off.

Picture 3 - The hair is growing back, but I�m still wearing the wig at this point. This photo was taken in a hotel room in Monroe. My cousin was getting married that weekend. I�d just taken chemo the day before and wasn�t feeling so hot.

Picture 4 - And here�s my first visit to the obstetrician pic � the hair I have today. Looks a lot like the wig, I think �only I�ve got layers cut in. I know � I skipped a lot of years � but the strip of photos would be a mile long if I tried to capture every hair whim I ever went through in the past 9 years.

In any case � girl in picture one had no idea what was in store for girl in picture four.

Something to think about . . .

Well � sorry this was lame �but I�m actually busy here. AND I�m leaving early.

Have a great weekend!

12:30 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker