Friday Flashback: Last Great Time in the Big Easy

September 02, 2005
Well � I don�t feel like writing much � but I thought I would repost from another entry months ago.

This was the �last great time� I had in New Orleans � and I don�t think I�ll ever be able to repeat this experience. Tres bittersweet. I�m so sad that �mental pictures� are all I have left of that day.

This is from February 21, 2005

�The next day, I decided that it was too great of a day to stay in. So after some thought, I decided to go to New Orleans for the day. Since Chad didn�t want to go because he has anxieties and such- I took Jimbo.

What a GREAT time we had!!!

The cool thing is that I got to introduce him to things- and being who I am, the OLDEST and all �I love doing this. He�d never been to the Pat O�s piano bar. Well we were going! He�d never had a hurricane. Pour them up, bartender! He�d never had a buttery nipple shot- well � we�ll just have to slam some back then!

We walked the streets relatively tipsy � soaking in the sights and sounds. We wandered in and out of galleries on Royal � awestruck by all of the art. We paused to watch street performers and laughed at the antics.

We kinda played this little game of mental picture taking � since we had no camera with us. So when something cool was happening- he�d go � look at that �that is a picture moment. Funny � but they are all in my head now. The kitten sleeping on the antique chair in the gallery, surrounded by paintings of cats. The old man asleep at a table in the Cuban restaurant. The Goths dancing to jazz on the Jackson Square grass.

We left the city at around 8:30. We�d seen a lot � walked about five miles and had the best time either of us had ever had there. I guess it�s because it was just us and we�re so much alike and so laid back. When you go with a group � everyone wants to do something different and you have to wait and it�s annoying.

And although I�d love to go with Chad- New Orleans makes him nervous.
Something about perimeters. Jimbo totally understood the concept. It�s the fact that you�re not only watching out for yourself, but you�re watching out for your girl � for bums and pickpockets and pervs. Anyway �so the perimeter that you�re guarding has doubled. Jimbo said when he went with his ex-girlfriend; he too, was a nervous wreck.

Guess his sister getting robbed and felt up is of no concern.

But seriously � it was great.�

10:08 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker