She Bangs

January 28, 2005
Becoming quite obsessive over the fact that I now have bangs.

For those of us whose last bang experiment was circa 1990 and included lots of hairspray, curling irons and the constant need to achieve �just the right height,� this is terrifying. The 1990 me would immediately attack this fringe with a teasing comb and a bottle of Aqua Net. The 1990 me would hate the fact that these bangs are (gasp) so very flat. Of course, why in the hell would I want to take advice from that 15 year old jersey-haired bitch? Perhaps I have a photo? I�ll have to check into that when I get back to my own desk/database of photos. I�m at the front desk again � of course!

I just feel so different. I feel like I�ve literally changed hair species and now I�m one of these bang people. I�m linked with this breed who believe that foreheads should be hidden from the view of all. Kinda like the Victorians with their ankles, huh?

Anyway � so I unveil the hair at work to a variety of responses � all relatively good, but all comparing me to someone. Dr. R said it looked �teacherish.� Scowl. Another woman said I looked like Agent 99 � whoever that is. I blinked and mumbled �Mission Impossible?� and she told me where it came from, but I don�t remember it. Georgi said it looks like Catherine Zeta-Jones in The Terminal. YAY GEORGI!!! Wendy said it was awesome! Good for you too, Wendy. Last night I showed my sister who loved it and Rachael. Rachael only grimaced, stood back and said �Let me get the full picture, here.� In the end she said it was �cute.�

Yeah so maybe having short hair makes me look fatter, but � oh well. You only live once and I�ve wanted to wear my hair like this for as long as I can remember. So � why wait until I�m thinner? I mean � I won�t be sporting spaghetti strapped tank tops anytime soon, but I think all this �I�ll just wait until I�m thin� or �I can�t wear that until I�m thin� is just a big pile of bullshit and I�m sick of thinking it. I�m sick of saying it. Hell, I�m even sick of hearing myself say it.

In other news, I didn�t just do one thing yesterday that scared me (the bangs), I did TWO things. The other thing was not necessarily on purpose.

I RAN OUT OF GAS ON THE ROAD!!!!

This has been one of my biggest fears forever! I mean, I�ve literally had panic attacks thinking that the gas was just at a trickle and I would run out. Well, somehow I did. I won�t go into too much detail but I will just say that, although you think you�re getting 360 miles to every full tank � don�t necessarily bet on that.

Anyway � as miracles would have it � it died at the gas station, five feet from the pump � that just happened to be on the side that my tank is on AND that just happened to be the only pump in that section of pumps that was working. I had to put it in neutral and sorta walk/push it closer to the pump � but I did it. I filled up and was good to go.

I can�t believe that. Okay � so maybe I�m not the unluckiest person in the world.


12:54 p.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker