Friday Flashback: Tune Terror

July 15, 2005
Okay � this is going to be a bit of a weird entry � more of a survey actually.

When you were younger (or maybe even now) did a certain song terrify you?

I guess this is kind of a strange question, but I�ve asked around a bit and, indeed, certain top forty tunes scared the ever-living shit out of people I know. And I�ll say that the average age of terror of my sample crew is roughly around 7 or 8.

I�ll start with me:

Terrifying song of yore: Silent Running by Mike & the Mechanics.

Now, I�m going to attempt to post a link to a clip, so I hope this works. I�m doing media player clips, by the way. You may have to find the damn sample on the page or something and click it.

Reason for terror: Let me just say that�s it�s a very �armageddonish� tune about taking children and hiding in the cellar and all sorts of horrific imagery to fuck with the young mind. It still scares me. I would post a link to the lyrics, but sadly, all I get are these stupid sites that are mad with popups. If you are curious � do the google search.

Chad (my husband)

Terrifying song of yore: In the Year 2525 by Zager & Evans.

Clip here

Reason for terror: Another song about scary and horrifying future destruction.

Apparently we both just feared growing up . . . go figure.

Jimbo (my brother)

Terrifying song of yore: One Night in Bangkok by Murray Head

Clip here

Reason for terror: The one line �I can feel the devil walking next to me.� He would make us change the station before it would get to that part. And sometimes, certain people (not naming names) would torture him by just singing the lyric.


Joey (my brother-in-law)

Terrifying song of yore: 1999 by Prince

Clip here

Reason for terror: The one line �Mommy, why does everybody have a bomb?�

I�m seeing a theme here � world destruction, Armageddon, bombs, etc.

Wendy (my friend)

Terrifying song of yore: Imagine by John Lennon

Yes � I said Imagine!

Clip: I am SO not posting a clip link. If you don�t know that song . . . you need help.

Reason for terror: She had some sort of idea that if you played it backwards, there were satanic messages in it. Apparently, she had some sort of crazy Pentecostal aunt that used to tell her things were satanic � especially Rock and Roll.


Okay � so what about you? Were we the only ones? I think not.

Tell me about your little musical nightmares.

1�2�3 � GO!

10:44 a.m. ::
prev :: next
|



Our First Baby is Due on November 23!!!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker